By law, all producers selling (bovine) cattle or calves, for any reason and regardless of age or sex, must pay $1.50-per-head to support beef/veal promotion, research and information through the Beef Promotion and Research Act created by the 1985 Farm Bill and Washington State RCW 16.67.
Additional forms and assistance with remittance is available by contacting the Washington State Beef Commission office at 206-444-2902.
All beef, dairy and veal producers. The purchasing party is responsible for remitting the Beef Checkoff. The $1.50-per-head Beef Checkoff is due each time an animal is sold, regardless of its age or purpose. This means feeder cattle and stockers, as well as fed cattle, are subject to the Beef Checkoff. Breeding stock and dairy cows sold into other herds, whether privately or at auction, are also subject to the Beef Checkoff. An animal will probably be "checked-off" more than once during its lifetime.
No. As of October 1, 1996, as stated in the Beef Promotion and Research Act and Order, anyone selling cattle and calves is required by federal law to remit the Beef Checkoff. Special allowances are made for buyers who resell cattle no more than 10 days after purchasing them. In these cases, a "Certification of Non-Producer Status" form must be filed for each transaction.
Check with the Washington State Beef Commission at 206-444-2902 to request a private treaty form or ask questions. The WSBC also provides Collection Points with remittance forms used to keep track of Checkoff dollars and cattle transactions. Collection Points include auction markets, packers and brand inspectors. Remittance forms and payments are due by the 15th day of the month following the transaction.
Sign up for the monthly Washington Beef Checkoff E-Update to stay in the know about Beef Checkoff programs happening across the state each month.